Wow! Today God really reminded us again of His presence & direction in all of this…& guess what!?! He used a bike! Yes, a kids bike to guide us! Bike

I was posting some ads on Craigs list to sell some items we have that we won’t need in Haiti. I ran across an ad for a childs BMX bicycle. Our 12 year old daughter has needed a bike for some time & she has always had her eyes on BMX type bikes (she likes to jump with her current old bike).

We have been hoping that we can bring our trampoline & kids bikes to Haiti with us, so we were planning on trying to get Chloe a new bike before we went to Haiti, but the BMX ones are so expensive! (For those of you who know Chloe, she is NOT one to want trendy or high profile things).

Last year when it became apparent that she might need a different bike, we figured that she should get a BMX type bike that would be safer for her when she jumps & does her tricks. I then show Chloe the picture of the bike in the ad & the very reasonable $55 asking price for it.

Chloe told us that she “does not need a new bike; that some children don’t even have a bike” & then said that her “old bike will be just fine for Haiti.” I had other errands to do anyway, so Sean & I talked & decided I would go look at it, just to see.

When I got to the home that was selling the bike, I had been there about 5 minutes looking at the bike, thinking “it’s a nice bike but Chloes thoughts are right, we need to downsize & make do, not buy more stuff before we leave for Haiti.” I then start talking with the owner Kenny & his wife. We get on the subject of adoptions (his 2 kids are adopted & it was his daughters bike) & then they mention that they have friends currently trying to adopt from Haiti.

I didn’t even know at this point that these folks were believers but I felt lead to tell them why we are looking to buy a bike for our daughter for Haiti; that she (& the rest of our children are so willing to give up so much to go to Haiti) that we wanted to at least be able to bring their bikes… something they have always enjoyed.

Kenny begins to open up about what God has done for him, for others & what God can do. I mentioned to him about the last 3 days of Sean & I experiencing satan putting doubts & questions in our minds. We talk more about how God has lead people & been so present & that He will always give us what we need to do His will.

Kenny reminds me of Ephesians 6 & the importance of putting on the Armor of God every morning…& as I’m listening to him, my heart is rejoicing, lifted & filled with peace & certainty! We spent probably an hour together & then we all held hands in a circle & prayed.

Wow! This was all God! Without a doubt! We had never met, we didn’t approach this weekend looking for a bike, our hearts needed encouraging, God asked Kenny to do this & he obeyed so graciously!

We exchanged information & addresses so we could keep Kenny & his family updated with our newsletters. Kenny also humbly sent us home with a free bike! I told him that someday we will send him a picture of his daughters bike in Haiti, knowing that it will be well used not only by our daughter but by many other children that God puts in our path.

After I left Kenny’s house, I felt so excited & renewed. I called my good friend to tell her what God did. I couldn’t wait to get home & share that incredible God moment with Sean & our children!

Later, I also sat down & read through Ephesians chapter 6…awesome as it always has been… but I knew God was speaking specifically to me, especially for this day, Him knowing exactly what we needed to continue to follow His will for us.

Eph.6:10 (written by the Apostle Paul)

10Last of all I want to remind you that your strength must come from the Lord’s mighty power within you. 11Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand safe against all strategies and tricks of satan.

God also gave me this verse today:

Psalm 31:24

Be of good courage,
And He will strengthen your heart,
All you who hope in the Lord.