for you, Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you. Psalm 9:10

I’ve been reading several books on early missionaries; some of them pioneers. I am familiar with many of them but now that we are actually here in Haiti ourselves, their stories, experiences & faith amaze me even more. I mean, I am in awe at the thought & realization of what these early missionaries did for the name of Jesus. The faith they had, especially through the many, many trials they endured, is something few of us may truly experience.

In the early 1800’s some Christians realized that places like China or India did not know about God. The ones that felt called to go, went. Then, boats were the only means to get where God called them to go; 4-6 month treacherous journeys, surrounded by nothing but open seas & uncertain outcomes… just to get there!

They didn’t have phones, email, the internet, automobiles, airplanes, quick evacuation methods or even reliable vaccines. Friends & loved ones that were left in their homelands couldn’t hear from them; if they made it or how they were doing for many months, sometimes over a year, just to get hand written words to each other.

We’ve only been here in Haiti for 4 months! It took us a weeks driving time & one day of flight time to get here. We have so many more conveniences than early missionaries did & still some people think we are crazy for being here! I shamefully admit that I have thought, at a time or two, that we are crazy for being here!

I believe people like Adoniram Judson, Ann Hasseltine Judson, Hudson Taylor, John Wesley & Jim Elliot (to only name a few) changed the world. They were people of God, people of action, determined to take the truth of Jesus Christ to those who had not heard it; some, even at the cost of their lives.

Yes, their are many ways to change the world & you don’t have to be a Christian or a missionary to do so…but I personally have particular interest in these early missionaries (or any Christian missionary for that matter) because of my belief in God & where I believe God is leading me & my family during this time in our lives.

My faith isn’t anywhere near the faith those early missionaries had & faith they kept during what they had to endure. Their journeys amaze me. Their experiences intrigue me.

Their stories & deep walks of faith make me ponder & realize that we must have an extremely unique & miraculous God, so amazing that I still don’t even come close to fully comprehending.

Between being so sick & recuperating slower than I would like, I have had more time to read than usual and God has used these stories to bless me & inspire me. I have been both humbled & strengthened by reading about these early missionaries.

Our family is personally trusting in the Lord as we continue to adjust to living & working in this beautiful, but what some might even call heathen, country of Haiti.

I think the fact that we have the awesome opportunity to travel to the states for the Christmas Season is making me even more amazed at how different time has changed the way many missionaries live.

My gracious father has purchased our entire family tickets to fly to his house in California. My brother, his wife & son live near there, & my little sister & her family will be traveling there & my youngest brother will as well. My Mom & step Dad are coming down from Idaho! Even my Grandmother whom I have not seen in 9 years will be there from Virginia; (unfortunately Easton, Banning and Reagan have never even met her). This will be such a special time. When we committed to moving to Haiti, we planned on not being able to go anywhere at all this first year.

For my Dad, whom together we agreed to disagree on us being here, I love you and am very grateful for your generosity, hard work & gift of us being able to be with you during the Christmas Season. Thank you Dad & Anna! We’ll be seeing you soon…

Serving Christ in Haiti,
Denise & family

